Lightroom: How To Shoot Tethered in Lightroom 3

The new version of Adobe Lightroom now allows users to shoot tethered directly into Lightroom 3. Before this advancement, users had to use third-party software companies in order to communicate with their camera. Users should know that this feature only works with newer and more upscale DSLR cameras, and generally it only works with Canon and Nikon camera.

Step 1: The Importance of Tethered Shooting

Before this edition, users had to access the photos that they took with their camera via third-party providers. And, in the case of Nikon users, this meant that they had to buy Nikon's Camera Control Pro, which can be rather expensive.

Now, with this version, users can simply hook up their camera and start capturing the photos. Not only does it reduce the number of programs eating up memory on a computer, it reduces the number of steps that users have to worry about. The Tethered Capture feature allows users to directly communicate with camera, making the whole process easier.

Step 2: How to Capture Photos

To use the Tethered Capture feature, users should follow the below procedures:

  1. Users need to plug in their camera to the computer. If necessary, users should turn on their camera and set it to the playback mode. Some cameras need to be in the playback mode for the computer to recognize it as an external device.
  2. Now, users should open up Lightroom 3.
  3. Next, users should click on the File Tab and then scroll down to Tethered Capture.
  4. In the dropdown menu for Tethered Capture, users should click on Start Tethered Capture.

Once users click on Start Tethered Capture, a popup menu will appear, and it will be titled Tethered Capture Settings. In this dialog box, users can give their video a Session Name. This should be unique to the video itself.

Other options include picking whether or not they would like to breakup photos by shots. They can also use a naming scheme, pick the output destination, add Metadata and add Keywords. Metadata and Keywords will be important if someone is planning on uploading their photos to the web, especially Flickr or Photobucket. This way, it can be found using search terms.

Once done, users should hit OK. Now, the camera control bar will appear, and it will allow users to see their aperture settings, ISO, shutter speed and white balance. As the images get captured, they will start showing up in the user's Library.

Users should just let the camera download the images at its own pace since they can't manipulate the settings anyway. Once the camera starts downloading information, users will not be able to adjust any of the settings.

Step 3: Don't Forget to Delete Pictures

Once all photos have been captured, users may want to remove the photos from their memory card. The photos don't need to be kept on the memory cards, as it will cause it to fill up. Users should instead be cataloged on an external hard drive, online or on their personal computers.