How to Delete All Facebook Photos at Once

facebook_logo.jpg
Facebook photos are easy to share with the world. Mobile uploads. Cover photos. Profile pictures. Users can even create unlimited albums with up to two hundred photos in each one. And yet there may come a day where you need to delete most, or all, of your photos. While Facebook sadly does not offer a "one-click delete" button, we wanted to take you through the two best options for deleting your Facebook pictures as quickly as possible. 

1. Deactivate Your Account

Our first option is definitely the fastest way to expunge pictures, but it comes with a pretty big caveat: you disappear from Facebook along with al of your photos. Your profile, timeline, and photos still exist -- Facebook saves them in hopes you'll reactivate your account -- but if you choose this method, everything goes. 

Facebook_Account_Settings_b.jpg
If you're done with Facebook, and this is what you want, simply select Account Settings from a drop down menu at the top right of your timeline. From there, select the Security tab on the left (under General) and then Deactivate your account.

deactivate_facebook_account.jpgOn the next page, Facebook offers up a one question survey about why you are leaving, under which you will see Confirm or Cancel. Click Confirm and your photos (and Facebook) account are now gone.
confirm_Facebook_deactivation.jpg
2. Deleting Albums

If you prefere a less draconian approach to removing photos quickly and efficiently, your best bet is deleting Albums. After navigating to your Photos (found on your timeline, under your cover photo), you have three options: Photos of You, Photos, and Albums. Select Albums to bring up a thumbnail list off all your photo albums.
Facebook_albums.jpg
Then click on the specific album you want to remove. On the next page, click on on circular widget with the pulldown menu, and choose Delete Album.

Delete_Facebook_albums.jpgRepeat for every album you wish to delete and, pretty soon, your photos will be gone from Facebook forever unless you choose to reload them sometime in the future. 

Profile Pictures and Cover Photos

There's always a catch. The two albums you cannot delete as described above are Profile Pictures and Cover Photos. To remove them, you must do so individually. First, select the Profile Pictures or Cover Photos album, then mouse over the photo you wish to delete and click the little pencil, which brings up a familiar looking pulldown menu. 
delete_Facebook_profile_pictures.jpgSelect Delete This Photo, then repeat these steps for every photo in your Profile Pictures and/or Cover Photos albums.

Tagged Pictures

When someone posts a picture and "tags" you in it, Facebook links the photo to your timeline for the world to see. You might not want to have any association to it, but because you didn't upload the picture, you cannot delete it (or any other person's photos for that matter). The only thing you can do is untag yourself from the picture.



Thanks so very much for reading. Please join the Steve's Digicams Facebook page to share your photos and see our latest articlesnews stories, and reviews!

Need help finding the best camera deals no matter you budget?
click here:
sdgg2012-logo.jpg